Variety Names Artisans Award Recipients for 2023 Honors

M.M Keeravaani, “RRR” composer and “Naatu Naatu” songwriter; Catherine Martin, costume designer, production designer and producer on “Elvis”; Claudio Miranda, cinematographer of “Top Gun: Maverick”; and Florencia Martin, production designer for “Babylon” are among the recipients of Variety’s Artisans Awards.

The honorees will be feted at the Santa Barbara Film Festival on Feb. 12 at the Arlington Theatre.

Now in its ninth year, Variety‘s partnership with the Santa Barbara Film Festival celebrates the artisans who have showcased the most innovative work of the year in their craft.

Said Roger Durling, the festival’s executive director, “From big-budget productions to independent cinema, artisans have shown us this past year the strength and vitality of the collaborative process in filmmaking, and we at SBIFF cherish our partnership with Variety and the opportunity to spotlight the accomplishments of these singular artists.”

Jazz Tangcay, Variety‘s senior artisans editor, will moderate a panel conversation as well as one-to-one conversations. She said, “This has been an incredible year for cinema with a phenomenal showcasing of crafts. It’s an honor and joy to bring this community to the Santa Barbara Film Festival and to work with Roger on this magical night. Each year, Variety looks forward to celebrating and highlighting this group of artisans and to remind people just how invaluable their work is to film and to celebrate excellence in their work.”

The Variety Artisans Award will be handed out Feb. 12 at 8:00 p.m. at the Arlington Theatre to the following:

M.M Keeravaani – Songwriter – “RRR”
Son Lux – Composer – “Everything Everywhere All At Once”
Catherine Martin – Costume Designer – “Elvis”
Florencia Martin – Production Designer – “Babylon”
Claudio Miranda – Cinematography- “Top Gun: Maverick”
Adrien Morot -Hairstyling/Make Up – “The Whale”
Paul Rogers – Editor -“Everything Everywhere All At Once”
Eric Saindon – VFX – “Avatar: The Way of Water”
Frank Kruse – Sound Designer – “All Quiet on the Western Front”

Previous Artisan Award recipients include Mark Bridges for “Phantom Thread,” Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross for “Mank,” Mia Neal for “Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom,” Ruth Carter for “Black Panther” and Sandy Powell for “The Irishman.”

Leave a Comment